Department of Social Science

Welcome to the University of South Carolina Beaufort’s Department of Social Science!

 Social Science: a branch of science that deals with the institutions and functioning of human society and with the interpersonal relationships of individuals as members of society. [1]

The Department of Social Science offers courses in the following academic disciplines:

African American Studies

Anthropology

Communications Studies & Speech

Geography

Human Services

Political Science

Psychology

Sociology

 

The Department of Social Sciences offers Bachelor Degree programs in:

Communication Studies (B.A.)

Human Services (B.S.)

Psychology (B.A.)

Sociology (B.A.)

 

The Department of Social Sciences also offers the following minors:

 Anthropology

Communication Studies

Human Services

Psychology

Sociology

 

Anthropology:

 

Assistant Professor

 Kimberly Cavanagh, Ph.D., University of South Carolina - kcavanagh@uscb.edu

Communication Studies:

Professor

Pamela Cooper, Ph.D., Purdue University - hoelp@uscb.edu

Associate Professor

John Blair, Ph.D., University of Georgia - jpblair@uscb.edu

Adjunct

Courtney Hampson, M.A., Monmouth University - champson@uscb.edu

Psychology:

Professor

Charles Spirrison, Ph.D., University of Southern Mississippi - cspirrison@uscb.edu

Assistant Professor

Brandon Cosley, Ph.D., University of Maine - bcosley@uscb.edu

Adjuncts

Debra Henderson, M.S., Georgia Southern University - dhenders@uscb.edu

Jan Holt, Ed.D., University of Houston - jrholt@uscb.edu                          

Melodie Hunnicutt., M.Ed., University of South Carolina - melodiea@uscb.edu

Rich Reed, M.S., Vanderbilt University - rreed@uscb.edu

James Reid, Ph.D., Oklahoma State University -

Cheryl Shookman, Ph.D., Tulane University - shookman@uscb.edu

Linda B. Wilson, Ph.D., Boston College - lbwilson@uscb.edu

Andrew Geier, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania -  ageier@uscb.edu

Sociology:

Dr. Robert Ackerman, Program Coordinator - rackerman@uscb.edu

Dr. Deborah J. Cohan, Assistant Professor of Sociology - dcohan@uscb.edu

Ian K. deNeeve, Adjunct Professor of Anthropology - deneeve@uscb.edu

Dr. Reid H. Montgomery, Jr., Adjunct Professor of Sociology - reidm@uscb.edu

Human Services:

Dr. Randy Lamkin, Jr., Program Coordinator - lamkin@uscb.edu

Jim Glasson, Human Services Specialist - glasson@uscb.edu

Political Science:

Dr. Charles R. Barton, Professor of Political Science - rbarton@uscb.edu

 

For more information regarding the Department of Social Sciences, please contact:

Dr. Charles L. Spirrison,

Program Coordinator and Chair,

Dept. of Social Science -- cspirrison@uscb.edu

 

 

 

 

 


 

[1] social science. 2012. In Merriam-Webster.com.

                Retrieved September 19, 2012, from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/social%20science