Department of Social Sciences

 

Welcome to the University of South Carolina Beaufort’s Department of Social Sciences!

Social Science: a branch of science that deals with the institutions and functioning of human society and with the interpersonal relationships of individuals as members of society. [1]

The Department of Social Sciences offers courses in the following academic disciplines:

African American Studies

Anthropology

Communications Studies & Speech

Geography

Human Services

Political Science

Psychology

Sociology

 

The Department of Social Sciences offers Bachelor Degree programs in:

Communication Studies (B.A.)

Human Services (B.S.)

Psychology (B.A.)

Sociology (B.A.)

 

The Department of Social Sciences also offers the following minors:

Anthropology

Communication Studies

Human Services

Psychology

Sociology

 

African American Studies:

Assistant Professor

Najmah Thomas, Ph.D., Virginia Commonwealth University - nthomas2@uscb.edu

 

Anthropology:

Assistant Professor

Kimberly Cavanagh, Ph.D., University of South Carolina - kcavanagh@uscb.edu

Adjuncts

Ian DeNeeve, M.A., University of Kentucky - deneeve@uscb.edu

Laura Von Harten, M.A., University of Kentucky - vonhartl@uscb.edu

 

Communication Studies:

Professor

Pamela Cooper, Ph.D., Purdue University - hoelp@uscb.edu

Assistant Professor

Brett Borton, MMC, University of South Carolina - bortonb@uscb.edu

Instructor

Jayne Violette, Ph.D., University of Kentucky - jviolett@uscb.edu

Adjunct

Courtney Hampson, M.A., Monmouth University - champson@uscb.edu

 

Geography:

Adjunct

Daniel Morgan, M.S., Utah State University - morgan3@uscb.edu

 

Human Services:

Degree Program Coordinator

Randy Lamkin, Jr., Ph.D., University of Connecticut - lamkin@uscb.edu

Assistant Professor

Najmah Thomas, Ph.D., Virginia Commonwealth University - nthomas2@uscb.edu

Human Services Specialist

Jim Glasson, M.A., University of Rhode Island - glasson@uscb.edu

 

Political Science:

Professor

Charles R. Barton, Ph.D., University of Alabama - rbarton@uscb.edu

 

Psychology:

Professor

Charles Spirrison, Ph.D., University of Southern Mississippi - cspirrison@uscb.edu

Assistant Professors

Brandon Cosley, Ph.D., University of Maine - bcosley@uscb.edu

Carey Fitzgerald, Ph.D., Central Michigan University - cfitzger@uscb.edu

Adjuncts

Greg Hollis, Ph.D., United States International University - ghollis@uscb.edu

Jan Holt, Ed.D., University of Houston - jrholt@uscb.edu                          

Melodie Hunnicutt., M.Ed., University of South Carolina - melodiea@uscb.edu

Rich Reed, M.S., Vanderbilt University - rreed@uscb.edu

Cheryl Shookman, Ph.D., Tulane University - shookman@uscb.edu

Ellen Williams, Ph.D., University Of Tennessee - ewilliam@uscb.edu

Linda B. Wilson, Ph.D., Boston College - lbwilson@uscb.edu

 Sociology:

Degree Program Coordinator

Randy Lamkin, Jr., Ph.D., University of Connecticut - lamkin@uscb.edu

Assistant Professor

Deborah J. Cohan, Ph.D., Brandeis University - dcohan@uscb.edu

Visiting Assistant Professor

Summer McWilliams, Ph.D., Florida State University - smcwilli@uscb.edu

 

 

For more information regarding the Department of Social Sciences, please contact:

Charles L. Spirrison, Ph.D.

Program Coordinator and Chair,

Department of Social Sciences -- cspirrison@uscb.edu

 

 

 

 

 


 

[1] social science. 2012. In Merriam-Webster.com.

                Retrieved September 19, 2012, from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/social%20science