Beaufort-Jasper Higher Education Commission (BJHEC)

Supporting the USCB Community

The purpose of the Beaufort-Jasper Higher Education Commission is to provide support and encouragement to all undertakings to improve higher education opportunities for citizens and residents of Beaufort and Jasper Counties, South Carolina.

The Beaufort-Jasper Higher Education Commission shall be vested with all powers that may be necessary to enable it to accomplish its purposes and all such powers shall be exercised for the benefit of the citizens and residents of Beaufort and Jasper Counties in the state of South Carolina.  The Commission may exercise all powers granted to it by Title 59, Chapter 56 of the Code of Laws of South Carolina Annotated as may be amended and in effect from time to time (the “Code”).  [59‑56‑20(A)]

The Commission consists of nine (9) members, appointed by the Governor of the state of South Carolina; seven (7) members must be residents of Beaufort County and two (2) members must be residents of Jasper County.

Meetings are held on the second Tuesday every other month beginning at 5:00pm.  Meetings are usually held in the Hargray Building, Room 238 on the Bluffton campus, however locations may vary among the three campus locations. Check the website for the location. 

Meeting Dates


  • January 9, 2024- Cancelled due to sever weather warning
  • February 13, 2024- In lieu of the January 9th meeting
  • March 12, 2024- Cancelled
  • May 14, 2024
  • July 9, 2024
  • September 10, 2024
  • November 12, 2024


Final agendas are posted at least 24 hours prior to all meetings. Click on date to see the agenda.



Please contact Launa Turnbow, Assistant to the Secretary at or (843) 208-8242.


Download Bylaws PDF Here

Commission Members

Jan Baxter
Tricia L. Etheridge, M.D.
J. Simon Fraser, Esq., Vice Chair
Jane S. Kiser, Secretary 
Brenda Litchfield, Ph.D.
H. Tim Pearce, M.D., Chair
Larry S. Rowland,
Emory Wayne Rushton                                                                                                                                                            Roberts (Tabor) Vaux, Jr.

Ex Officio Members

Al M. Panu, Ph.D.
Chancellor of USCB
Office: (843) 208-8242 

Beth Patrick, Treasurer
Vice Chancellor of Operations, Finance, and IT, USCB
Office: (843) 208-8143 

Launa Turnbow, Assistant to the Secretary
Office: (843) 208-8242

Joseph Passiment,
Chair, Beaufort County Council

John A. Kemp
Jasper County Council